Eastern Virginia Medical School Sentara Healthcare
Sentara EVMS

Research Oversight Council

The Council includes representatives from departments and organizations within Sentara and EVMS.

Members of the Council will provide non-binding strategic advice and informed guidance to the Institute’s activities. They will implement the strategic direction set forth by the joint governance board, build community partnerships, evaluate and approve research projects submitted by the faculty, and establish the Institute’s standards and compliance. Suggested members for the council are:


  • C. Donald Combs, PhD, Vice President and Dean, School of Health Professions
  • William J. Wasilenko, PhD, Senior Associate Dean for Research
  • Tina D. Cunningham, PhD, Director of The Center for Health Analytics and Discovery
  • Cynthia C. Romero, MD, Director, The M. Foscue Brock Institute for Community and Global Health
  • O. John Semmes, PhD, Director, Leroy T. Canoles Cancer Research Center
  • Richard M. Bikowski, MD, Quality Officer for EVMS Medical Group

From Sentara

  • Natalie Kaszubowski, Vice President of Information Technology, Sentara Healthcare 
  • Kathie Zimbro, PhD, Director, Sentara Quality Research Institute
  • Sam Owens, Director, IT, Sentara Healthcare
  • Paul D. Chidester, MD, Vice President of Medical Affairs, Sentara Norfolk General Hospital
  • John Brush, MD, Sentara Cardiology Specialists
  • Daniel Cohen, MD, Sentara Neurology Specialists